01/2014 Our first collaborative paper on [n]CPP excited state photophysics with the Kamat group at Notre Dame has been accepted in J. Phys. Chem. A.

12/2013 Penghao, Tom and Evan's paper on bent paraphenylenes has been accepted for publication in Organic Letters.

11/2013 Welcome to the newest (and youngest) member of the Jasti Group, Devdan ("Dev") Jasti!

09/2013 Our first paper on Raman spectroscopy of CPPs in collaboration with the Swan Group (BU Photonics) has been accepted for publication in Carbon.

  Ramesh is awarded a Boston University Innovation Career Development Professorship. Only two BU faculty members were awarded this endowed professorship. (Highlight on BU Chemistry Website).

  First year graduate student Brittany White and undergraduates Dharati Joshi (2014), Colleen Gill (2014) and Morgan Myers (2015) join the group.

08/2013 Matt is awarded the 2013 Vertex Scholar Award. Thank you to Vertex for their generous support!

  Congratulations to Tom for recieving the 2013 Lichtin Award for Excellence in Research!

  Matt's paper on the radical cation of [8]cycloparaphenylene has been accepted for publication in Chemical Science.

07/2013 George Pantelopulos joins the group for the summer as an REU student. Welcome, George.

  Congratulations to Matt for being chosen to deliver a talk at the 2013 Physical Organic Chemistry Gordon Research Seminar.

  Congratulations to Tom for being selected for a short talk at the 2013 Physical Organic Chemistry Gordon Research Conference.

  Tom is awarded a graduate fellowship from AstraZeneca. Congratulations, Tom and thank you to AstraZeneca for their generous support!

05/2013 Doug is the recipient of the 2013 Undergraduate Research Award for his presentation at the undergraduate research symposium and Jessie is awarded UROP funding for the summer.

  The group is a recipient of a Boston University MSE Innovation Grant (in collaboration with Prof. Xi Lin) for proposed work on new conductive polymers with carbon nanohoop functionality.

04/2013 Ramesh's profile has been featured in the Journal of Physical Organic Chemistry's Early Excellence in Physical Organic Chemistry.

  Liz has recieved a fellowship from the American Association of University Women. 245 grants and fellowships were awarded to graduate students, post-docs, professors and community leaders for 2013-14. Congratulations, Liz!

  Ramesh is featured in the Winter-Spring 2013 issue of Bostonia (CAS Faculty Member Wins Sloan Fellowship) and in BU Today (04/01/2013).

02/2013 Our recent collaborative work with the Petrukhina Group at the University at Albany on the reduction of cycloparaphenylenes has been accepted for publication in ACIE and features the tetraanion of [8]CPP!

  The Jasti group has been awarded an Ignition Award from Boston University to investigate carbon nanohoops as advanced energy storage materials.  The Ignition Award Program provides funds to evolve BU research to the stage where it can be licensed, spun off as a New Venture, or create a new, non-profit enterprise.

  Ramesh is the recipient of a 2013 Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship.

01/2013 Undergraduate student Ashley Mellen (2016) joins the group.

12/2012 The group has earned an NSF CAREER award for the development of organic synthesis tools that will enable the preparation of structurally well-defined carbon nanotubes (CNTs).

10/2012 Liz's [n]Cycloparaphenylene synopsis has been accepted for publication in J. Org. Chem.

  Jianlong and Matt's paper on cycloparaphenylene dimers has been accepted for publication in J. Am. Chem. Soc.

  Jianlong's gram-scale CPP synthesis has been highlighted in Synfacts: "Cycloparaphenylenes by the Gram"

07/2012 Jianlong's Chem. Sci.paper on the first gram-scale syntheses of CPPs has been highlighted in C&E News!

  Evan and Tom's paper describing an approach to [7]-[12]CPP has been accepted to J. Org. Chem.

  Jianlong's ACIE paper on [6]CPP has been highlighted by SYNFACTS.

  Jianlong's paper describing the gram-scale syntheses of [8] and [10]CPPs, as well as the crystal structure of C60@[10]CPP, has been accepted for publication in Chem. Sci.

06/2012 Tom and Xia's paper on Tetraphenyl-Substituted [12]CPP is now in J. Org. Chem.

  Undergraduate student David Rose (2013) joins the group.

  Congratulations to Liz for being elected President of the Boston University Women in Chemistry (BUWIC) student-run organization!

05/2012 A nice review describing the rational synthetic approaches to carbon nanotubes has been published recently in Angewandte Chemie: para-Connected Cyclophenylenes and Hemispherical Polyarenes: Building Blocks for Single-Walled Carbon Nanotubes?

01/2012 Undergraduate student Doug Allison (2013) joins the group.

  Jianlong's paper describing the synthesis, characterization, and crystal structure of [6]cycloparaphenylene has been accepted to Angewandte Chemie.

12/2011 Tom's paper, "Overcoming Molecular Strain: Synthesis of [7]Cycloparaphenylene", is accepted to Synlett as a SYNPACTS featured article.

  The group's recent JACS paper on the synthesis of [7]CPP was highlighted in Synfacts:
"The Smaller the Redder"

  Ramesh is the recipient of a 2011 Thieme Chemistry Journal Award.

11/2011 The group's recent work on cycloparaphenylenes was highlighted in the Noteworthy Chemistry section of the ACS website.

10/2011 Liz's paper, "Theoretical Analysis of [5.7]nCyclacenes: Closed-Shell Cyclacene Isomers", is accepted to Org. Lett.! Congratulations, Liz!

  First year graduate students Evan Darzi and Penghao Li join the group.

09/2011 The group's first paper, "Selective Synthesis of Strained [7]Cycloparaphenylene: An Orange-Emitting Fluorophore.", is accepted into J. Am. Chem. Soc. Congratulations, Tom, Matt and Liz!

  Undergraduate student Dylan Selden (2013) joins the group.

07/2011 High school student Colin Guedj joins the group for the summer as part of the BU-RISE program.

06/2011 Dr. Jianlong Xia (Central China Normal University) joins the group as a postdoctoral fellow.

03/2011 Liz Hirst passes her oral exam!

02/2010 Paul Evans passes his oral exam!

01/2011 Undergraduate student Alex Berkowitz (2012) joins the group.

10/2010 Welcome to the new group members: Tom Sisto, Matt Golder and Eric Boon.

09/2010 Dr. Tian takes a position at X-Chem, Inc. Good luck to Xia and the new job!

07/2010 Tom Sisto joins the group for the summer. Tom will be starting graduate school at BU in the fall.

05/2010 Ryan has been awarded a UROP stipend to conduct research this summer. Congratulations, Ryan!

12/2009 First year graduate students Elizabeth Hirst, Paul Evans, Lanita Gaworski and Han Xiao officially join the group.

10/2009 The lab is up and running... thanks to Xia and Ryan!

09/2009 Dr. Xia Tian and undergraduate Ryan Knowlton officially join the group.